top of page

Wendell Scott Sr. to be Inducted into the 2024 Automotive Hall of Fame

Wendell Scott Sr., the trailblazing figure known for his groundbreaking achievements in NASCAR, has been named as a 2024 inductee into the prestigious Automotive Hall of Fame. The Induction & Awards Ceremony is scheduled to take place on September 19, where Scott and other global mobility pioneers will be honored.

The Automotive Hall of Fame induction is considered one of the highest honors in the automotive industry, reserved for individuals whose contributions have significantly shaped the automotive and mobility marketplace.

Sarah Cook, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame, expressed excitement about this year's class of inductees, highlighting their diverse and impactful contributions to the industry. Cook emphasized that the group of trailblazing innovators and leaders have played a critical role in shaping the automotive landscape, making them deserving recipients of this prestigious honor.

The 2024 inductees represent a diverse array of individuals who have left an indelible mark on the automotive industry:

Wendell Scott: Scott made history as the first African American team owner and driver to win a race in the Grand National Series of NASCAR (now Cup Series). His triumph shattered racial barriers and paved the way for greater diversity in racing, leaving a lasting legacy of perseverance and innovation.

Bill Ford: As the executive chair of Ford Motor Company, Bill Ford has played a pivotal role in advancing the industry while steering the iconic company toward the future. His advocacy for sustainability, environmental responsibility, and mobility innovation has positioned Ford Motor Company as a leader in the automotive world.

Dr. Betsy Ancker-Johnson: Ancker-Johnson broke barriers as the first woman VP in the automotive industry, overseeing environmental compliance and vehicle safety at General Motors. Her contributions to automotive environmental and safety issues have left a lasting impact on the industry.

Vic Edelbrock Sr. and Vic Edelbrock Jr.: The Edelbrock name is synonymous with innovation and quality in the aftermarket sector, thanks to the pioneering spirit and innovative engineering of Vic Edelbrock Sr. His son, Vic Edelbrock Jr., continued this legacy, solidifying the Edelbrock name as a symbol of excellence in the industry.

John James Sr.: James played a crucial role in opening the commercial trucking industry to minorities, advocating for diversity and inclusion. His company, The James Group, is now an award-winning logistics and automotive services leader.

Vivek Sehgal: Vivek Chaand Sehgal's leadership has transformed Motherson into a global, diversified Tier 1 supplier. By prioritizing trust, operational excellence, and sustainable practices, Motherson has become a trusted partner to major OEMs worldwide.

The Automotive Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony will take place on September 19, 2024, in Detroit, Michigan. For sponsorship inquiries, please contact Morgan Pigott at or 313-240-4000, ext. 103.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page